Well Hello…

In an effort to make my life more exciting I've decided to start sharing some of my brilliant knowledge with the world. I currently work for a relatively small company in which I play the role of Programmer, Database Administrator, Web Developer, and Graphic Designer… to name a few. The programs I most frequently use throughout the course of the day are Dreamweaver, Access, Photoshop, SQL Server, and Outlook. I have a strong interest in programming and web development which leads me to spend a good majority of my time 'fiddling' with code. What really gains my interest is seeing if I can get the computer to do something that will make my life easier. Where this mostly ends up taking me is somewhere relatively geeky… either searching for code online that I can use at my job to make our work more efficient or attempting to innovate and come up with my own solutions. On top of this I prefer to design attractive interfaces… which is what led me to learn how to use Photoshop.

Prior to finishing college with a major in Computer Science (what else) I came up with some extra cash doing web design. I taught myself HTML and eventually was designing Flash websites from the ground up. One thing I am proud of is the fact that the majority of the computer-related knowledge I have is from teaching myself. College gave me a good background in object-oriented programming (OOP) and other important concepts such as algorithm efficiency, but most of the knowledge I have is through my own trial and error. For example, when I grew tired of programming in C and C++ and wanted to design a window based application as opposed to a console command line app, I taught myself how to program in C# using the Microsoft .NET framework.

Anyways, hopefully this will be a good outlet for me in the future where I can share some of my computer knowledge with the rest of you. After all, today is my 25th birthday, perhaps it is time I do something productive 😉

Leave a Reply

